FREE 500 word critique

I admit it. I’m BIG on having the first pages capture my attention forcing me to read on through the night or day. So–I want to help out THREE lucky YA writers with a FREE 500 word critique.

I know what you’re probably thinking…who is this guy that he thinks he can say anything about my baby? I am a published writer, which doesn’t mean as much these days, but I also have over 20 years teaching experience reading amazing, semi-amazing, and really good writing from my 8th grade students/high school as well as thousands of YA books over the past ten years. I know for me, sometimes it takes a different set of eyes to see your baby from a new perspective. I’d LOVE to be those eyes and voice for you.

So how will I pick the winners? The first three people who follow me on twitter, Facebook, and on this blog will win. Pretty simple. I will contact you if you win with information on how to email me your sample page.

What will I critique? Hook–did you make me want to read? Plot– is it unique or something I have seen many times before? Characters–do they live and breathe and sound like real people? Style–do you show rather than tell? Are there enough details and a true voice? Pace–does the pacing keep my interest?

Good luck! I look forward to reading and reacting to your babies. Remember; from one writer to another, take what I say with a grain of salt because I’m NOT smarter than you. However–if there’s ONE thing I say that helped, PLEASE let me know about it.
Blessings,
DM King

Leave a Reply

